The Picksperiment: April 5th, 2009

I’m doing something crazy and novel and stupid.

I’ll explain.

I don’t claim to know everything about sports. But I do memorize facts, and learn something from the analyses I read and see; I do observe what is and isn’t working for teams as I watch games, and I pay attention to who’s playing well and who’s playing poorly.

So I’m trying something new this year, both to see how much I really do know and to see if I can stay with this for an entire year: I’m picking every game from the MLB, NFL, NHL, and NBA seasons that begin in 2009, and, perhaps, when we get closer to them, some other sports, too.

I’ll post with all of my picks before the day’s games take place, and maybe do a little analysis of my own with my prognostication. And I’m picking straight-up, because picking against the spread would imply I know something about gambling; I don’t. And I’ll try to keep a running tally of my failure in a page up at the top of this blog. (And, I confess, I stole the name for the feature from the lovely ladies at Playing the Field.)

Most of all, I look forward to being mocked mercilessly for this.

My goal is going above .500. We’ll see how that works.

The Picks

It’s the opening night of the MLB season, so I only have one game to whiff on. The Philadelphia Phillies host my Atlanta Braves, commencing their title defense with Brett Myers on the mound and tens of thousands of proud (and potentially drunk) Philadelphians in the seats. This is potentially the happiest the City of Brotherly Love has been at the beginning of any season not involving shooting wild animals. Because of that, and because I don’t trust Derek Lowe just yet, I’m taking the Phillies to win tonight.

See you tomorrow, when I’m digging out of that hole.

2 Comments

Filed under The Picksperiment

2 responses to “The Picksperiment: April 5th, 2009

  1. 0-1, mate. You’re more than welcome to jump into our MLS contest or SF’s Prem league stuff going on.

    Good luck with it though. It truly is a cool idea.

  2. I’ll jump in, but it won’t count towards this.

Leave a Reply

